Wonders of the World

Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu

Macha Picchu was designated A UNESCO world Heritage Site in 1983. It is also one of the new Seven Wonders of the World. It is 7000 feet above the sea level and is nestled on a small hilltop between the Andean Mountain Range. It is the site of ancient Inca ruins. It is believed that the initial residents of Machu Picchu died within 100 years of its establishment due to small pox. It was then captured by the Spaniards and destroyed later. It is often referred to as ‘The Lost City of the Incas.’ It was discovered in 1911 by Hiram Bingham, a Yale University professor. Its primary buildings are the Intihuatana, the Temple of the Sun, and the Room of the Three Windows. No One knows that the real purpose of Machu Piccha was. Some people contemplate it was a prison and some say it was a defensive retreat, but the most common belief is that Machu picchu was the estate of an Inca emperor.

The high level of preservation and the general layout of the ruin are remarkable. Machu Picchu is the most economically important tourist attraction in Peru, bringing in visitors from around the world.


Study Abroad and Get Scholarship

- Halloween
- Diwali
- The Life of Swami Vivekananda
- Monthwise Calendar Wallpapers
- Singhasan Battisi
- Horror stories
- Indian Mythology stories
- School Projects