KidsGen - The New Age Kids Site
Happy Indian Independence Day Celebration

National Anthem of India

Monvenience - Transact in Convenience

Simple Everyday Personal Finance Tips for Everyone - Free

National Anthem

The National Anthem of India is the work of the great poet and philosopher Rabindranath Tagore. It was originally written in Bengali. The Constituent Assembly adopted the song on January 24, 1950. Before this, Vande Mataram was the National Anthem of India. It was written by one of the famous litterateur of Bengal named Bankim Chandra Chattapadhya.

Later Constituent Assembly of India,( Vol.XII, 24-1-1950) opined:

"The composition consisting of words and music known as Janaganamana is the National Anthem of India, subject to such alterations as the Government may authorize as occasion arises ...”

Only the first of the five stanzas was designated as the anthem.
The anthem goes like this:

Jaana Gaana Maana Adhinayaka Jayehe

Rabindranath Tagore

Bharata bhagya vidhata;
Punjaba Sindhu Gujarata Maratha,
Dravida Utkala Banga,
Vindhya, Himachala, Jamuna, Ganga,
Ucchhala Jaladhitaranga;
Taba Shubha Naame Jaage
Taba Shubha Ashish Maage
Gaye taba jaya gaatha.
Jana gana mangala dayaka jaya he
Bharata bhagya vidhata.
Jaya he, jaya he, jaya he,
Jaya jaya jaya, jaya he!

The English translation of the song goes like this:

Thou art the ruler of the minds of all people,
Dispenser of India's destiny.
Thy name rouses the hearts of the Punjab,
Sind, Gujarat, and Maratha,
Of the Dravid, and Orissa and Bengal.
It echoes in the hills of Vindhyas and,
Himalayas, mingles in the music of the
Jamuna and the Ganges and is chanted by
the waves of the Indian sea.
The pray for the blessings,
and sing by the praise,
The saving of all people
waits in thy hand.
Thou dispenser of India's destiny,
Victory, victory, victory to thee.